Ichiro’s Car Crash!

ichiro130303

Ichiro totaled his Land Rover in Tampa on Saturday afternoon, but he’s “very grateful” that he wasn’t injured (nor was anyone else). It happened about three miles from the Yankees’ Spring Training facility, at the intersection of Dale Mabry Highway and West Kennedy Boulevard (above). An oncoming car turned left in front of him but he couldn’t stop. His air bag deployed, and then the car he hit crashed into another car. A bunch of quotes:

The car was turning left and turned into me. I slammed on the brakes and couldn’t do anything about it, but I had the green light… I realized that air bags actually do exist. Obviously, I’ve never seen one before. You can trust the car makers that they do make good air bags and safe cars… I almost want my body to kind of feel like I got hit or something. My body just didn’t react, I guess. Nothing. I guess you can say that you’re going to have to do a lot worse to have me get hurt… When I was in high school, I was on a bicycle and I got hit by a car. Ever since then, I’ve been really aware and really careful, to the point where I look everywhere… As a driver, I’m very careful and very aware of the situation. I’m probably the worst backseat driver, because I see everything and I tell the driver, “Be careful,” a lot. So I’m a very careful driver.

First the alligator, now this. Details here, here, and here.

2 responses to “Ichiro’s Car Crash!

  1. Pingback: Spring Training Wrap | Super Ichiro Crazy!

Leave a Reply

